‘Cartógrafo Ilustre’ Award MAPAS 2022

7 July - Auditorio de Tenerife
Interview: Fabio Rubiano with José Sanchis
and 'Cartógrafo Ilustre' Award 2022

12:00 - Interview
13:00 - Award ceremony

'Cartógrafo Ilustre' Award 2022
(Valencia, June 28, 1940)

José Sanchis Sinisterra (Valencia, 1940), one of the most revolutionary figures on the Spanish theatre scene, is the winner of the 2022 ‘Cartógrafo Ilustre’ Award.

The award was created by the South Atlantic Performing Arts Market to reward individuals and institutions whose work to promote cultural exchange deserves recognition in a sector full of wonderful figures whose efforts are not always acknowledged and in a society that continues to find new ways to circumvent borders through culture and the arts.

The author of 'Ñaque o de piojos y actores' (1980), '¡Ay Carmela!' (1986) and 'El cerco de Leningrado' (1993) will receive the award at a ceremony to be held at 13:00 on 7 July at the Auditorio de Tenerife following a live interview with Fabio Rubiano, a Colombian director, playwright and writer and director of Teatro Petra.

José Sanchis Sinisterra has maintained a close professional relationship with the Latin American theatre scene since the 1980s. He has written more than 50 plays, including original works, adaptations of classic plays and versions of narrative texts, and has received numerous prizes and awards for his work. He has developed innovative projects such as Teatro Fronterizo and Nuevo Teatro Fronterizo, which have influenced generations of playwrights and theatre directors.


Ñaque o de piojos y actores (1980), El retablo de El Dorado (1984), Lope de Aguirre, traidor (1986), ¡Ay Carmela! (1986), Los figurantes (1989), Perdida en los Apalaches (1990), Los naufragios de Alvar Núñez (1991), Valeria y los pájaros (1992), El cerco de Leningrado (1993), Marsal Marsal o conspiración carmín (1994), La máquina de abrazar (2002), Flechas del ángel del olvido (2004), Vitalicios (sainete negro) (2010), Monsieur Goya, una indagación (2019).